Rack House Primary School


The Early Years Foundation Stage

During their time with us, the children will be gaining an understanding of the Early Learning Goals across the seven areas of learning. These seven areas are as follows:

 Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language (listening, attention and understanding and speaking)
  • Personal, social, emotional development (self regulation, managing self, building relationships
  • Physical development (gross motor skills and fine motor skills)

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy (comprehension, word reading and writing)
  • Mathematics (number and numerical patterns)
  • Understanding the World (past and present, people, culture and communities, and the natural world)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (creating with materials, being imaginative and expressive)

In addition, the revised EYFS refers to the different ways that children learn as Characteristics of Effective Learning:

  • Playing and Exploring - children investigate and experience things and 'have a go'
  • Active Learning - children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievement
  • Creating and Thinking Critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things

Together with the Prime and Specific Areas, these compromise the knowledge, skills and experiences that are developmentally appropriate for children from birth to 5 years.

 Nursery Curriculum .pdfDownload
 Reception Curriculum.pdfDownload
Showing 1-2 of 2